Great Quote from J. I. Packer

October 7, 2015 at 11:27 am | Posted in Books and Movies, Wisdom | Leave a comment

There is a documentary coming out on the life of J. I. Packer.  Some of his books have had a big impact on my life.  His Knowing God is on my “top ten books ever” list.  My wife sent me a link to the trailer, and this is what the man says about himself in it.  Great words; great legacy.

As I look back on the life that I’ve lived, I would like to be remembered as a voice — a voice that focused on the authority of the Bible, the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ, the wonder of his substitutionary sacrifice and atonement for our sins.  And, if your joy matches my joy, as we continue in our Christian lives, well, you will be blessed indeed.

Although I’ve given you the entire text of it, you can watch the trailer here if you would like.

November 12, 2015.  I noticed that this link now leads to a 20 minute video of J I packer in his own words.  It sill ends with the quote above, though a fuller version of it.  The entire video is worth the time to see.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

