When the Earth Totters

April 20, 2013 at 8:47 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Personal Testimony | Leave a comment

This has been a rough week in many ways – a culmination of some rough months in ministry.  The attendance and finance numbers at church have gone down, and I wonder sometimes where all this is going.  But then God encourages me that it is his church, and he is in control.  I have had a few such reminders in recent days.  It seems almost every day in the past two weeks God has encouraged me through his word.  Some of the recent reminders have come from the songs of Asaph in the book of Psalms.  Here are a few of them:

“I am continually with you; you hold my right hand.  You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will receive me to glory.  Whom have I in heaven but you?  And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.  . . .  I have made the Lord GOD my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.”  (73:23-28)

“When the earth totters, and all its inhabitants, it is I who keep steady its pillars.” (75:3)

“Help us, O God of our salvation, for the glory of your name; deliver us, and atone for our sins, for your name’s sake!” (79:9)

“Restore us, O God of hosts; let your face shine that we may be saved.” (80:3, 7, 19)

Be encouraged!  When it feels like the earth is tottering, God is still there; he is still in control; he is still a refuge; he still rescues his people.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

