Delight in the Lord

February 19, 2013 at 5:25 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Personal Testimony, Worship | Leave a comment

I have been on vacation for the past week.  My family had a winter retreat in Estes Park, which was a much needed time of rest and relaxation with no schedule for almost four days.  We played games, went on lazy walks and read; we enjoyed being surrounded by beautiful mountains; we saw some of the famous Estes Park elk herd just outside our back porch; we had a visit from some deer one morning; we disconnected from the computers and cell phones; we spent extra time in God’s Word and prayer.

One theme that came up in my devotion reading during our escape was the idea of delighting in God.  I started reading the first day in Psalm 37, “Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” (v4 ESV)  I have often seen attention given to the promise of this popular verse, but I focused, for a change, on the command, pondering what it means to actually delight in God.  I believe when we truly delight in him, he is one of the desires of our hearts that we are given.  On the second morning I read Psalm 40, “I desire to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.” (v8)  I memorized this verse years ago in the NASB where “desire” is translated “delight,” and that connected to the previous day’s thought.  Finally on the third morning I read Psalm 42, “As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.  My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.” (vv1-2)  We should delight in God, delight to do God’s will, thirst for him and long for him.  Fortunately for me, I was, for a few days, in the perfect setting to do just that.

I pray this thirst for God will continue as I step back into real life and won’t be interrupted by the daily routines of jobs and ministry.  Take some time this week to just enjoy the presence of God, to delight in him and in his word.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

