True Worshipers

June 15, 2012 at 11:07 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, It's All About God, Worship | 2 Comments

John 3-4.  These two chapters are full of some pretty incredible things.  There is so much that could be written, said, preached about them:  There is Jesus’ talk about being “born again;” there is the most famous verse in the Bible (3:16), a verse that presents the Gospel in a sentence; that is followed by 3:20-21, a statement that has fascinated me in recent years – those who trust Jesus show their works to be done by God; there is John’s incredible statement, “He must become greater and I must become less (3:30); there is a contrast between those who believe and those who do not in 3:36, a verse that convinced me once and for all that punishment is in store for those who don’t know Jesus; these are followed by the amazing story of the Samaritan woman at the well in chapter 4, which includes Jesus’ teaching about giving the living water (4:13-14), Jesus’ only direct claim to be the Messiah other than his testimony under oath (4:26), and a passage which demonstrates that Jesus was all-knowing (4:18, 29); these chapters possibly include the first non-Jews to believe that Jesus was the Savior of the world (4:42); and finally,there is an official’s son whom Jesus healed from a distance (4:49-53).

However, I was pondering 4:23, where Jesus said to the woman at the well that true worshipers worship the Father in spirit and in truth.  The Jews and Samaritans had a debate about proper worship, whether it should be done on the Samaritan mountain where Abraham built his altar, or in Jerusalem where Solomon built the temple.  Jesus seemed to say that place didn’t matter as much as the heart of the worshiper.  Today we also have debates about worship, whether it should be done in this or that style.  I think Jesus would say that style doesn’t matter near as much as the heart of the worshiper.  As I age, I hope I can worship with any style the people I worship with use.  I hope I can worship with any age group no matter the music they use, as long as it is God-exalting music.  I hope I age with a heart of worship rather than with a form I happen to like.

With that thought, I love the words of this song we sing occasionally on Sunday:  “I’ll give you more than a song, for a song in itself is not what you have required.  You look much deeper within, through the way things appear; you’re looking into my heart.  I’m coming back to the heart of worship, and it’s all about you.  I’m sorry, Lord, for the thing I’ve made it when it’s all about you, it’s all about you Jesus.”

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Then Pastor Glen, you’d get a kick out of a Council meeting where I once pointed out that building maintenance was a very large part of our budget. And we were having trouble getting volunteers to mow the lawn regularly, paint, patch the parking lot, etc. So we should brainstorm ideas…one of them being to sell the building and rent an empty storefront. WOW! Did that suggested change jumpstart the conversation. And strangely got more volunteers.
    But yes, I think you’re onto something. It’s not where we worship, but the where our hearts are while we’re worshipping.
    I’m glad I found your blog.

  2. Thank you for the kind feedback and insightful comment. Too many of us have our hearts in the place we worship rather than focused on the One we worship. It’s easy to do when so much time and money is invested in our church buildings. I can easily fall into that trap. I think I’ll try your trick next time there are complaints about the upkeep of our older building!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

