Will Judgment Come on May 21?

April 20, 2011 at 10:26 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Eschatology, False teaching, Questions for Pastor Glenn | 1 Comment

Pastor Glenn,

What do you think about all these signs around town calling May 21 the Judgment day and October 21 the day the world will end?  I am curious because I went to one website that listed all these dates since creation of the world and apparently these dates fall into proper order.  I don’t really get what they mean and how they came up with them!

Dear ________

They make some stupid assumptions; then add some spurious calculations; then get all the media attention they can get.  They will then tell you that all churches but theirs are corrupt and you must follow them.  Its has happened many times over since Jesus left the earth, and they’ve all been wrong.  The same people promoting May 21 have missed some other dates already.  Jesus promised to come back and said only the Father knows.  Best to stick with his plain words.

Pastor Glenn

My short answer was do to the format: communicating on Facebook.  There is, of course, much more that could be said.  Interestingly enough, the same day I got this question, I had read Acts 1 in my devotions.  Acts 1:8 is a verse well known to Christians, and the verses immediately before it address this very issue.  After his resurrection, the disciples met Jesus on the mountain he told them about.  They then asked, “Lord, will you at this time restore the kingdom to Israel?”  So Jesus responded, “It is not for you to know times or seasons that the Father has fixed by his own authority.”  Note the plain truth of the statement.  But what struck me is the connection between this and verse 8.  Jesus’ entire answer is “It is not for you to know times or seasons that the Father has fixed by his own authority.  BUT you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”  There is a big BUT connecting these two thoughts.  In other words, rather than speculate about such things, Jesus wanted his followers to focus on something else, on what he called them to do.

If Jesus comes back on May 21, 2011 or October 21, 2011 or December 21, 2012, that would be wonderful!  But that shouldn’t be our focus.  Our focus should be knowing Jesus Christ and making him known to others around the world.  Let’s let the Father worry about such things and be about the business to which he called us.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dear Editor,
    A national magazine called me for an interview, and I hung up on them! Certainly not very gracious. It proves I am an utterly sinful person and so I’m thankful I have a supremely gracious savior!

    I thought the caller said he was from Family Radio and wanted to talk about my blog concerning Judgment Day on May 21. I assumed he was only calling to argue, so I simply said, “I’ve already posted what I think.” That got no immediate response, so I just hung up. I’m embarrassed to say I wasn’t listening very well.

    As soon as I hung up I was convicted about my attitude, wondering if the caller was sincere. I stopped to confess and ask God that if the caller was sincerely looking for something I could provide that he would call back. I no sooner finished the prayer when the phone rang again! It was your reporter, and he was very courteous saying he completely understood what happened.

    We had a great visit about how pastors should address these kind of issues. I appreciate his graciousness. Unfortunately, in the midst of my confusion, I didn’t catch his name. To whomever is writing such an article, pass along my thanks for his kindness.

    I look forward to seeing what he writes.
    God bless you all at World Magazine, and keep up the good work.
    Awaiting his return, whenever it may be,
    Pastor Glenn Gilpin
    Village Baptist Church, Thornton, CO

    I never did see such an article.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

