Salvation by Grace through Faith? Look at the Overwhelming Evidence!

April 18, 2011 at 4:44 pm | Posted in False teaching, Grace and Faith, Questions for Pastor Glenn, Security and Assurance, Theology | 8 Comments

Do we really believe that God offers salvation freely by his grace, and that our part is simply to trust in his provision?  I am so often hit with questions about this matter that I thought I would post many or these references together.  There are those who teach that we must practice certain things or go through certain rituals to be saved.  But what does the Bible say?  Look at the overwhelming evidence in this matter.  Notice that there are not just a few verses pulled out of context but some long passages and references from four of the major authors of the New Testament.

From Luke:

Acts 2:21;  Acts 4:4;  Acts 10:43;  Acts 13:38-39;  Acts 14:1, 27;  Acts 15:6-11;  Acts 16:29-31;  Acts 18:27;  Acts 20:21;  Acts 26:12-18.

From Paul:

Romans 1:16-17;  Romans 3:21-26, 27-30;  Romans 4:1-25;  Romans 5:1-11;  Romans 10:9-13;  Galatians 2:15-21;  Galatians 3:1-15;  Galatians 5:2-6;  Ephesians 1:13-14;  Ephesians 2:8-10;  2 Timothy 3:14-15;  Titus 3:3-7.

From John:

John 1:10-13;  John 3:14-17, 18, 36;  John 5:24;  John 6:28-29, 35, 40, 47;  John 7:37-39;  John 8:24;  John 11:25-26;  John 12:44-46;  John 20:30-31;  1 John 5:11-13.

From Peter:

1 Peter 1:3-5, 18-21;  1 Peter 2:6-10.

Maybe you never realized the Bible was so overwhelmingly clear.  Maybe you’ve run across this post because you’re under the teaching of someone who wants you to sign on his program or get baptized by his church because, he tells you, it’s the only way you can be saved, and he’s quoted to you a few obscure verses twisted to his purposes.  Maybe you think you’re saved because you were baptized or you’ve done many good works or you walked down a church aisle one day.  Maybe you’re trusting in yourself and what you can do.  The Bible is unmistakably clear on this matter:  Salvation is a gift of God’s grace through our trust in Jesus.  All that must be paid for our salvation has been paid by Jesus.  When you trust in him you are eternally saved from your sin.  Put your trust in Jesus today.

“Whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned.  He has crossed over from death to life.”  –Jesus

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aha! But what about those of us who find it so difficult to trust in anyone, Jesus included? That is a thought that Satan uses often to trick me into thinking I am not saved. But it is a LIE. I HAVE accepted Jesus as my Savior and Lord and the process of trusting in Him, for me, is a lifelong process that I am willing to be a part of because I WANT what He has for me–here and up there!

  2. it was hard to stop trusting in my own abilities and give up the helm to someone else…however it has been easy after trusting in Jesus less stressful,less worries and more peaceful, instead of just stumbleing through life’s difficulties alone

  3. Hello. I was asked a very hard question about habitual sin at my blog. I am not a pastor…have never been to a seminary. I am just a sinner saved by grace. I did the best I could to respond. Could you please look and see if I messed up anywhere?

    Here is the link:

    http://serenadedinseconds.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/the-last-word/#comments

    Sincerely,
    Theresa

  4. Theresa,
    You are a far better theologian than you claim. But I appreciate your asking, and I’m honored you would think of me in this context. I’ve finally made an attempt to answer your question here: https://pastorglenn.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/the-nature-of-true-confession/
    God bless,
    GG

  5. Thank you so much. You have been so helpful!

  6. […] And here is the link to the post where I asked for his help: https://pastorglenn.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/salvation-by-grace-through-faith-look-at-the-overwhelmin… This entry was posted in Uncategorized.Bookmark the permalink. 1 […]

  7. Oh this is funny. I sometimes stumble in ways that really cause me to suffer. I am that dog that just has to go digging, but sometimes I dig in places I shouldn’t. When that happens I long for a “safe” place. There are certain blogs that have become those havens for me. Yours is one of them.

    It is almost 2:30 in the morning. I have been up for over an hour reading blogs…searching for comfort. Then I remembered yours. Then saw in the right hand margin various categories. I clicked on the one titled “False Teaching”, I scrolled reading here and there and this post caught my attention.

    When I got to the bottom of this post I saw your bottom line. You had reduced that fraction down to simplest terms and you were resting there. That made my heart glad…made me feel safe to be there at a time when my faith has been so challenged. So I decided to comment, and when I clicked on “comment” I realized that I had read this post before when I saw a picture of my own face! LOL.

    Isn’t that something? Words to an old hymn came to my mind:

    “I love to tell the story for those know it best are hungering and thirsting to hear it like the rest. And when in scenes of glory, I sing the new, new song twill be the old old story that I have loved so long.”

  8. Thanks again for your kind words, Theresa. I know you have faced a lot of stress in your life in recent days. Our comfort comes not from our goodness, but from the strength and grace of our Lord Jesus. Rest in that.
    I am reminding myself more than I am reminding you, because we have faced the death of my wife’s father last month and mine this week. Both men were believers, but still there is grief and stress. I cried at the last line of your song; I needed to hear it. Thank you.
    GG


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

