Let Me Never Be Put to Shame

March 18, 2011 at 8:41 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, It's All About God | Leave a comment

Last Sunday, I spoke on detours in life.  On Tuesday I started this journal entry.  My life since has been a long series of detours!  Funny how that happens.  Anyway here is what I prayed and began to write four days ago.

Psalm 31 is a great prayer for a man in full-time ministry.  In my lifetime, I have seen far too many pastors fall into various kinds of sin that have put shame on their families, their ministries, their churches, themselves, and especially on the Lord.  I don’t want to be one of those casualties, but I’m sure they didn’t want that either.  Some years ago I read an article that referenced interviews with various ministers who had fallen, and what struck me is how, for every one of them, the process started with a neglect of the personal relationship with God.  They quit having devotions; or devotions became just a routine.

Here’s a prayer from David that all those in full-time ministry should echo:  “In you, O Lord, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame; in your righteousness deliver me!  Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily!  Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me!  For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me.” (vv 1-3)  Read through the rest of the Psalm and notice how often it talks about taking refuge in God or trusting in God.  These are active words that indicate a relationship is being pursued.  Continue to pursue your relationship with God; never let ministry activities get in the way, for all true ministry comes only from the overflow of that relationship.

Those who know my repeated mantra, “It’s all about God,” will notice that God leads us for his name’s sake.  That too should be included in the prayers of those in ministry, for it is too easy to chase our own agenda and glory.

“Make your face shine on your servant; save me in your steadfast love.  O LORD, let me not be put to shame for I call upon you.” (v16f)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

