No Condemnation

January 27, 2011 at 11:04 am | Posted in God's Love, Security and Assurance | 4 Comments

I am often asked questions about security and doubt, and I usually answer by pointing people to the tenses in the New Testament.  I have referenced many of these in the past; a check of the security and assurance tab on the right will show some of those articles.  I’ve been reading Romans in my devotions this week and have found numerous verses that assure our salvation by the tenses Paul used.  Those in Christ already have the benefits of salvation, because God has already declared it or done it.  I will keep my comments here to the eighth chapter.  If you are a follower of Christ who struggles with doubts, meditate on these passages with special focus on the tenses.

The key verse is Romans 8:1.  “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”  Notice that this is true – it is not just a possibility; and notice that is true now – it is not for some indefinite time in the future.  The reason is given in the next verse, “for the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death.”  Notice, that if you are in Christ, you are already set free from the law of sin and death.  Your sin does not result in death because that law no longer applies to you.  Now Christ righteousness applies to you instead!  God has already done what the Law could not do (v.3).  “By sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin, he condemned sin in the flesh, in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us.” (v.4)  He already did it; it’s a done deal.

If some try to argue that these things can be undone, they haven’t read the rest of the eighth chapter, where Paul, anticipating such an argument, asks numerous questions:  If God is for us who can be against us?  Who can bring a charge against God’s elect?  If God justifies, who can condemn?  What can separate us from the love of God?  The answer to all of these is an emphatic no one or nothing.  In fact, in all these things, “we are more than conquerors through him who loved us” – it doesn’t say we will be or can be but that we are.  (Read vv, 28-39)

May the assurance offered in God’s Word penetrate your mind and spirit so that you may fully trust in his truth.  I pray that you will know the amazing grace of God in Christ.

 

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Check out my follow up thoughts to this post in my article called “Help My Unbelief”

    https://pastorglenn.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/help-my-unbelief/

    GG

  2. My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish , neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. John 10:27-29

    Since becoming a Christian in 1995 I’ve always thought the idea of not being “pluckable”, was about assurance…but as I go back and think about it, it says MAN. Is that false beliefs? Ways of the world?

  3. Michelle,
    Thanks for the encouraging words of Jesus. Yes, they are about assurance. Notice Jesus says of his sheep, “They will never perish.” that’s pretty strong assurance from his mouth.
    So what is this matter of men not being able to pluck them out of Jesus’ hand? It looks like you memorized that verse from the King James Version. That is the only translation I can find that has the word “man” there, and you might notice that many KJV Bibles have it in italics. The italics mean that the word is not in the original Greek, but an addition by the translators. The original word is a pronoun with a much more generic meaning than is given by the KJV. The pronoun means “anything” or “anyone,” and, of course, it has the negative particle in front of it, thus “no one” or “nothing.”
    Jesus assures his sheep that he is sovereign as a shepherd, so when he gives eternal life, it is indeed eternal. No one and nothing can change that. By the way, this is another example of the present tense use of eternal life in the New Testament. It is impossible to have eternal life today and not tomorrow! See also, for example, John 3:36, “He who believes in the Son HAS eternal life.”

  4. Ah, very interesting!

    All of my memorization (or fragments left of it) are KJV. Although I’ve used the NKJV since the Women’s Study Bible came out years ago-about 6 months after becoming a believer- I remember the KJV words- a result of on-fire learning. Until looking up the verse yesterday however, (assuming I was recalling the KJV version), I had not realized the word “Man” was in it. NKJV says “Anyone”. My head has long interpreted it to mean “nothing, not ever”. Learn something new every day! One time, one part of a verse will leap out at you, another time, another part. :-)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

