Best Books of 2010

January 13, 2011 at 10:56 am | Posted in Books and Movies | 1 Comment

Because I was stuck on one book for so long this past year, I didn’t read as much as I normally would, but going through my list this morning, I found I’d read more than I thought I had.  Here are the best things I read in 2010.  Those which show up as links go to my earlier review or comments on the book.

Big Truths for Young Hearts, Bruce Ware.  No doubt that this would be the best of the year.  Bruce Ware writes great theology for young people – aimed at younger teenagers – and older people who need a beginning course.  I wrote two comments on the book in this blog; the second is here.

Heaven,  Randy Alcorn.  This is the one that took me all year to finish, but the truths presented were worth it.  The only reason I place it second is its wordiness.  Over the long haul, the content will impact my thinking way more than the book above.

J.I. Packer’s introduction to John Owen’s Death of Death.  Not a book per se, but long enough to be a small one and significant enough to list here.  Heavy duty reading, but well worth working through.  If the intro is this deep, I’m sure the book itself is . . . well . . . you get the idea.  I now have the actual book, but haven’t been brave enough to start it yet.

Do Hard Things, Alex and Brett Harris.  A must read for anyone under 25 and anyone who has kids or grandkids in that age group.

Through Gates of Splendor,  Elizabeth Elliot.  One of the most influential books I’ve ever read.  We read it outloud as a family this year.  Still a great read these many decades later.

The best novels I read were Gilead by Marilynne Robinson and the fantasy series 100 Cupboards by N.D. Wilson.  The genre of these two is so different, it would be hard to pick which is better, the latter is more exciting, the former more touching.

Happy reading in 2011, Pastor Glenn

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I ordered Big Truths for Young Hearts and am looking forward to reading it because even though I am older physically, in some ways, I am quite a young Christian–younger than a lot of children.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

