Delight in God’s Word

November 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts, English Bible Translations, Worship | Leave a comment

Psalm 119.  I have always loved this long, long chapter, by far the longest in the Bible, because it’s all about God’s Word.  These past two days, while reading through it in my devotions, I was struck by how much we should delight in God’s Word.  I marked everything the author says we do, or should do, with God’s Word.  Not surprisingly, the author says we should “keep,” “obey” or “observe” it 38 times.  Two examples include the famous verse 9, “How can young man keep his way pure?  By keeping it according to Your word,” and verse 166, “I hope for Your salvation, O Lord, and do Your commandments.”   The author says he “knows,” “meditates” or “learns” the Word of God, or wants to, 15 times.  One example is verse 27, “Make me understand the way of Your precepts, so I will meditate on Your wonders.”  My surprise was that he claims to “believe,” “trust” or “hope in” the Word only four times!  But, what spoke to me this week is how often he “delights in,” “loves,” “longs for” or “treasures” the Word of God; 24 times!  Add to that the 11 times he asks God to “revive” or “strengthen” him by the Word, and that’s a lot of delight and revival!  Here is a small sampling of those:  “Your Word I have treasured in my heart.” (11)  “Your testimonies are my delight.” (24)  “I shall delight in Your commandments, which I Love.” (48)  “O how I love Your law!  It is my meditation all the day.” (97)  This guy even “anticipates” the lonely night watches so that he can meditate on the word! (148)

          O that I might delight in God’s Word like this author did!  As a preaching pastor, I am able to spend much time studying and meditating on God’s Word, but sometimes that becomes routine and I’m just making sermons.  I am thankful and honored to have the job I have, and I love my job.  I am praying that I don’t just preach the Word but that I also always delight in the Word.  May I love Your word and may it be my meditation all the day!

          I saw a great video related to this today — sent to me on the day I’m thinking about such things in my devotions — an accident of God’s timing!  It is the celebration of a tribal people when they get their first copies of the New Testament in their native language.  O that we would appreciate it so much!  Often for us, the availability of God’s Word in English, like some of my sermon preparation, is routine.  Let’s love and delight in God’s wonderful word, available in our native language.  Here is a link to the video:   http://vimeo.com/16493505

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

