My Anxious Thoughts Multiply within Me

August 18, 2010 at 9:19 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

Psalm 94:17-19  If the LORD had not been my help, my soul would soon have dwelt in the abode of silence.  If I should say, “My foot has slipped,” Your lovingkindness, O LORD, will hold me up.  When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your consolations delight my soul.

I read these words in a recent quiet time and was struck by the last verse in particular.  Have you ever had a night when the anxious thoughts multiply within you?  I certainly have.  Occasionally I lie awake on my bed with a mind that won’t settle down.  The psalmist here reminds us that God can console us in those times, and that consolation can be our delight.  Imagine that – delighting through those anxious times because we know God consoles us!  In that regard, those long nights should be something to enjoy.  If only I could more often redirect my thoughts there.  Help us, God, to know, even through the long, busy-minded nights, that your lovingkindness upholds us and that you console us.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

