The Glory Jesus Has with the Father

July 26, 2010 at 3:58 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Theology | Leave a comment

            In the talk Jesus had with the disciples the night before he was crucified, recorded for us in John chapters 13 through 17, Jesus often mentioned his own glory.  Listen to the words he says: “Now is the Son of Man glorified and God is glorified in him.  If God is glorified in him, God will glorify the Son in himself, and will glorify him at once.” (13:32)  “He (the Spirit of Truth) will bring glory to me by taking from what is mine and making it known to you.” (16:14)   “Father, the time has come.  Glorify your Son, that your Son may glorify you.” (17:1)  “All I have is yours, and all you have is mine.  And glory has come to me through them. (17:10)  “Father, I want those you have given me .  .  .  to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.” (17:24)  Those are some powerful  statements, but the strongest of all is in 17:5, “Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.”  Jesus had glory with God the Father before the world began!

            Yet Yahweh, Jehovah God, the One we call the Father, says of himself, “I am the LORD, that is my name, I will not give my glory to another,” and “I will not yield my glory to another.” (Isaiah 42:8; 48:11)

            It seems to me we have only three choices to understand this:  (1) Either Yahweh God changed his mind and decided to share his glory with another.  This makes God a liar, because it is something he said he would never do; and it is a contradiction, because Jesus said he shared God’s glory before the world began, while Yahweh said he wouldn’t share his glory with another to Isaiah obviously after the world began.  Or (2) Jesus was a deceived egotistical maniac, who thought he deserved to share God’s glory.  In this case one wonders why an egotistical maniac has had such a positive influence on the world.  Or (3) Jesus really was God in the flesh.  The choice seems pretty clear to me.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

