Vacation Thoughts

June 25, 2010 at 8:11 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

We’ve spent most of the past eight days camped in the Colorado mountains and now are in a hotel in Delta.  We will still camp out a few more nights on the way home to Denver.  We’ve seen Great Sand Dunes National Park and Black Canyon National Park.  The big surprise of the trip was a hike to beautiful 60+ foot high waterfall that a campground host told us about.  We spent a few hours there relaxing in the refreshing spray.  It has been interesting and mostly restful without computer or Internet.

I have had some good devotion times pondering and praying through the scriptures.  The nice thing about trips like this is I can slow down and enjoy my time with God more than usual.  I’ve been reading through Isaiah, and here are two observations or ponderings from these days: 

First, I love the 12th chapter of Isaiah; it is a wonderful song of thanksgiving for salvation.  I prayed through this song a few times as I walked the hills near our first campground.  It was indeed a time of drawing water from the wells of salvation.

“I will give thanks to You, O LORD; For although You were angry with me, Your anger is turned away, And You comfort me.  Behold, God is my salvation, I will trust and not be afraid; For the LORD GOD is my strength and song, And He has become my salvation”  Therefore you will joyously draw water from the springs of salvation.

Second, I was noticing how often Isaiah prophecies of the salvation to come to the Gentiles.  “When the LORD will have compassion on Jacob, . . . then strangers will join them and attach themselves to the house of Jacob.”  (14:1)  “In that day there will be an altar to the LORD in the midst of the land of Egypt, . . . for they will cry to the LORD because of oppressors, and He will send them a Savior and a Champion , and He will deliver them. . . .  The LORD will strike Egypt, striking but healing; so they will return to the LORD.” (19:19-22)  I was praising God, as I walked around the lake at our second campground, because I am one of the Egyptians, a foreigner to God’s covenant, yet God has graciously visited me with healing and I am one of his people.

Here’s a picture of my daughter by the waterfall we found:

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

