The Knowledge of Him Who Called Us

May 14, 2010 at 1:23 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Theology | 1 Comment

            In recent years I have come to believe that every problem we have stems from a misunderstanding of who God is or of who we are in light of him.  It usually involves a low estimate of him – his glory, holiness, love and grace – and a high estimate of us, particularly a disregard for our utter sinfulness.  I am not trying to be simplistic; I understand there are people with such emotional baggage that they cannot believe who God says he is until the baggage is dealt with.  But I also believe the problems people like that have will remain long after the baggage is gone if they don’t replace it with a correct understanding of God and self.  In my devotions this morning I read these words: God has given us “everything pertaining to life and godliness through the true knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and excellence.”  See it there, everything we need for life and godliness is ours, and it comes through knowing God.  It comes especially through knowing God as the one who called us to be his, which includes an understanding of our sin and his grace.  The implication is if we don’t know God, then we don’t have all we need for life.  Yesterday I noticed the very first sentence in Calvin’s Institutes is this:  “Our wisdom, insofar as it ought to be deemed true and solid wisdom, consists almost entirely of two parts: the knowledge of God and of ourselves.”  Amen!  May you grow in the grace and knowledge of God.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i want to know god and have a relationship with him but my past and pain endured by early church life has scarred me now i question my wisdom and decisions now and i fear it could effect my marriage i love marie so much but i dont trust myself and i am having a hard time trusting god and asking why he allowed what happened to me. i am having a hard time letting it go knowing that the perpetrators got off.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

