Satisfied with Life at a Ripe Old Age

January 11, 2010 at 12:31 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

            “Abraham breathed his last and died in a ripe old age, an old man and satisfied with life; and he was gathered to his people.” (Genesis 25:8)  I am reading through the New American Standard Bible this year.  Although I used to read this translation exclusively, and continue to use it for reference, I have not read through it since it was updated in 1995.  Today, this verse stood out to me.  Although the NIV says that Abraham was full of years, the NASB says he was satisfied with life.  I have known too many older people who were bitter about life at worst or dissatisfied with life at best.  There are times, in middle life, when I see the emptiness of it all, times I perceive the shallowness of my own life, even as a teaching pastor.  I’m sure it’s worse in other professions.  That attitude will lead to dissatisfaction later.  I pray that as I age I will be satisfied with life – more particularly that I will find my satisfaction in God, and in Him alone.  I should be dissatisfied with everything else.  As I’ve said so often from Ecclesiastes, life can be empty, and the only thing in life that satisfies is something beyond the sun.  At the end of his 175 years, Abraham was full, satisfied with his life.  He looked beyond this earth and found that satisfaction in the LORD.  May I do likewise.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

