The Heavens Declare

November 9, 2009 at 5:28 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

            Friday I drove to Cheyenne to spend some time with my parents and then Saturday on to Casper for the Foundation for Christian Discipleship board meeting.  FCD oversees a number of student ministries on campuses in Wyoming, Nebraska and South Dakota called Campus Ventures.  I enjoy these twice-a-year meetings in spite of the long days getting there and back for church on Sunday.  I enjoy the fellowship of men and women committed to biblical discipleship.  One of our discussions on Saturday lead me to believe that our campus leaders and students don’t really know God in his glory, greatness and grace as they should, and that has been the root of some personnel problems we’ve faced in recent years.  The longer I live and preach, the more I believe Calvin had it right almost 500 years ago when he said all of our problems stem from the fact we don’t really know God.

            While driving home I pulled over at a rest stop I’ve visited several times (at least once each trip to Casper or to Ayres Bridge where my family has camped the last few summers).  While walking around the driveway to stretch my legs, I saw a sign pointing to a scenic overlook.  I was surprised I’d never seen it before, so I walked the path to some benches a few hundred yards away.  Just as I came to the end of the path, the sky turned bright orange and pink with some grey cloud wisps above the Laramie mountain range and Laramie Peak.  It was possibly the most gorgeous sunset I’ve witnessed in my life.  It took my breath away, and I said out loud, “Wow! You are an awesome God!”  I stood there speechless for a few minutes, just admiring God’s beauty, then prayed that I would be able to teach the next generation just how awesome God really is.

            “The heavens declare the glory of God!”  May I too declare that glory!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

