What Christ has Accomplished through Me

August 27, 2009 at 10:02 am | Posted in It's All About God | Leave a comment

Romans 15:15-18 Paul talks about “the grace God gave me to be a minister of Christ Jesus to the Gentiles with the priestly duty of proclaiming the gospel of God.”  I think it’s great that Paul’s gifts and ministry role are seen as God’s grace.  He was the apostle to the Gentiles and knows that role is a gift from God.  The only reason we have ministry is because God gives it; he gives both the talents with which we minister and the places where we can do it.  My job as a teaching pastor is a result of God’s grace, and I thank him for it.  But Paul doesn’t stop there.  He goes on to state the purpose of that grace, “so that the Gentiles might become an offering acceptable to God, sanctified by the Holy Spirit.”  It is not just that he can proclaim the gospel; the job isn’t done until some respond in obedience to the gospel.  That is why he can say, “I will not venture to speak of anything except what Christ has accomplished through me leading the Gentiles to obey God by what I have said and done.”  God does it all: he gives the talents; he gives the opportunities; he even gives the results.  Our use of the spiritual gifts he gave us is not complete until all of those are accomplished.  When they are, one other thing is accomplished as well: God gets all the glory.  “Therefore I glory in Christ Jesus in my service to God.”  God has given me the talent to proclaim his word and the place from which to do it.  May I see a great expansion in the results; may more and more people become an offering acceptable to God; may they be led to obey God by what I have said and done; may God get all the glory.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

