Recent Random Reflections

August 18, 2009 at 11:22 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

          Here are some recent random reflections from my devotions in Mark.  After feeding the five thousand, Jesus walked on the water and calmed the storm.  The disciples shouldn’t have been too surprised at this, because they’d seen him calm storms before, and the multiplying of the loaves proved once and for all who he was.  But still “They were completely amazed, for they had not understood about the loaves; their hearts were hardened.” (6:52)  I wondered about people I know who don’t understand who Jesus is, in spite of the evidence in front of them.  I prayed for one man who is a part of Jehovah’s Witnesses, and with whom I’ve had some conversations about Jesus; I prayed for a long-time friend who reads the Bible but has yet to see Jesus as the One who completely paid for his sin; I prayed for our congregation, because there are probably many who hang around church but don’t really know who Jesus is.  Even after a second meal of multiplied bread, the disciples still didn’t understand that God would use his resources to meet their needs. (9:21)

          “When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them, because they were like sheep without a shepherd. So he began teaching them many things.”  Jesus had compassion on the lost crowd.  He also had compassion on the individual sinner.  Of the rich young man inquiring about eternal life, we are told that “Jesus looked at him and loved him.” (10:21)  I often see the sinful crowd as hostile to Christianity and in the way of what I should be doing.  I often see the individual sinner as one who should stay lost.  Not Jesus.  He loved the crowd and he loved the individual.  May I have the same compassion for those without Christ!

          Jesus’ attitude about the above is also reflected in this famous statement. “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” (10:45)  I hope my attitude toward others, both in and out of the body, grows more into one of serving.  I like serving the body with my gifts, but serving those outside is sometimes harder.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

