Men in Midlife

August 12, 2009 at 5:01 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

            We’ve been out camping and vacationing for the past week, so I’ve done no writing on this blog.  One morning I was reading and pondering Psalm 39 and these words spoke to me about men in midlife crisis. “Show me, O LORD, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting is my life. You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you.  Each man’s life is but a breath. Man is a mere phantom as he goes to and fro: He bustles about, but only in vain; he heaps up wealth, not knowing who will get it.  But now, Lord, what do I look for? My hope is in you.” (vv 5-7)  So many men in our culture get to middle age and begin to realize that their life is short – a mere handbreadth.  They also begin to wonder what they are so busy about – why they are heaping up wealth to no purpose.  They question what they have been investing in for most of their lives.  I’ve seen it with some friends of mine.  For many men, that leads to a complete questioning of all life – a reevaluation of purpose and meaning.  I can’t say I will never be there, and so far I have been graciously preserved from that; however, I can make David’s prayer my prayer.  “Lord, show me how fleeting my life is.”  We all need reminders that life as we know it is temporal.  That most of what we pursue will never last.  If a time of complete reevaluation must come into my life, may I do it with an understanding of things eternal.  Help me, God, rather than heaping up temporal wealth, to invest in eternal things, and ultimately to put my hope in you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

