My Rock

July 3, 2009 at 7:30 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment
Ayres Natural Bridge

I added this picture since my first edition of this post. The bench in the picture is where I sat when I had the thoughts recorded here.

          We were vacationing at Ayres Natural Bridge in Wyoming this week.  It’s been a restful vacation, and I haven’t made any entries because we’ve been without telephone, electricity, and Internet.  This is an amazing spot, one of only three natural bridges in the world with running water under it.  But even more amazing to me is the climate change when we come into this place.  After driving across miles of desert, we quickly dropped into this small narrow canyon and thought we’d changed hemispheres or something.  Suddenly we were in a tropical jungle: tree types I’m not used to seeing in Wyoming; humidity and lush grass; and an absolutely incredible display of bird varieties.  One morning, I was watching the birds and rabbits play and was praising God for his incredible creativity.  The next morning I read in Psalm 18:  “The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.  He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”  I was struck by the number of titles David used for God in this poem:  fortress, deliverer, shield, horn and stronghold are in this verse, and some of them are repeated in the remainder of the chapter.  But the most used description of God is “rock.”  It appears twice in this verse and four times in the chapter.  While reading that it occured to me that I was sitting under a gigantic rock!  This rock has been here for thousands of years; it was a protection for us from yesterday’s rain; it was a stopover for the pioneers on the Oregon and Overland trails who were willing to brave a rough ride a few miles out to the way; though unknown and secluded as it is, it draws visitors from all over.  This place is secure from the desert above us; it is a refuge from the stresses of the world; it is a quiet respite. The only sounds I hear this morning are the roaring river and scores of bird songs.  God is like that, as David tells us with all these descriptions of his Rock.  “The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock!  Exalted be God my Savior!”

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

