The King!

June 26, 2009 at 8:47 am | Posted in Wisdom | Leave a comment

                I woke up to the news that Michael Jackson died last night.  He and I were the same age, so I grew up with him in some respects.  In my lifetime I remember my dog “King” dying; I remember the “King of Rock and Roll” dying, “The King of the Blues” died a few years ago; and now I see the “King of Pop” is dead.  Through it all the King of Kings lives on!

                Doubtless, there will be many accolades over the next few days about the greatness of this singer.  He has been around for a long time.  When we were kids, I saw a Jackson Brothers record that included their baby brother Michael.  He was a hit even then, and I was amazed that somebody my age could already be famous.  He recorded the biggest selling album of all time.  He has prospered through every type of electric music media, from vinyl to i-tunes.  (Since I wrote this just a few hours ago, I’ve already heard reference to the greatest entertainer ever.)  But I, for one, am not buying into his greatness, as abundantly talented as he may have been.  He was finite, just like the rest of us; he was a sinner, just like the rest of us – except that many of his sins were on display for the world.  Only one King is great!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

