Four Prayers from Philippians

May 5, 2009 at 11:02 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Prayer | Leave a comment
Tags:

Here are some prayers from my quiet time today

1:3-6  I thank my God every time I remember you.  In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.  This prayer was for the staff, Deacons and Elders at Village Baptist.  I do thank God with joy for partners in this ministry.  We have a great group of leaders here.  Those who are Elders now were all on the Board when I was called to Village, so they have been partners with me from the first day until now.  I pray that God would complete the good work he started both in the individual lives of these men and in this corporate body under their leadership.

3:12  I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  I believe Christ called me to teach and preach his word, so I must take hold of that thing.  When I hear of people struggling with midlife or burnout issues, I must remind myself of this truth – lay hold of the very thing for which you were created and pursue it with excellence.  At the same time, I must ask if that is all.  I love what I do and can be very comfortable with just that, but has God taken hold of me for more?  Does he want me to expand this ministry?  All of us who are comfortable with our ministries and station in life should ask this question.  God help me lay hold of the very thing for which you’ve created and called me.  Open the doors of ministry that you desire me to have and use me for your glory.

4:6-7  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  I prayed that peace which surpasses understanding for some people I’ve recently talked to in troubling and anxious situations (though I can’t write about them here).  In the midst of those circumstances, Lord, offer your amazing, mind-transcending peace.

4:11-13  I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through him who gives me strength.  Lord, I have known times of lean, but currently you have me in a time of plenty.  In spite of the hard financial times, I have seen a nice increase in income the past two years and am enjoying the fruit of that now.  Help me to be faithful and wise in my stewardship of this blessing – whether it is for my daughter’s college, our retirement, greater generosity, or some other reasons.  At the same time, allow me to be content, for it is often the case that the more one has, the less content he becomes, and I don’t want to go there.  I will rely on your strength for contentment, because all I need I have in you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

