Love and Fathfulness — part 1

February 10, 2009 at 10:26 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, God's Love | Leave a comment

My family took an extra day off to spend some time in the mountains cross country skiing and had a great outing.  I pondered a few psalms over the mini vacation, including Psalm 89.  In recent months, I have been fascinated by the number of times God’s love and faithfulness appear together in the psalms (over eighty!) and hope to write more about that in the future.  But I saw that connection in seven different places in this chapter alone!  The first two were in the first two verses:  “I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations.”  And “I will declare that your love stands firm forever, that you established your faithfulness in heaven itself.”  Then in verse 14 the psalmist says to God, “love and faithfulness go before you.”  In verses 24, 28 and 33 God says of David (and presumably his heirs), “My faithful love will be with him;” “I will maintain my love to him forever, and my covenant with him will never fail;” and “I will not take my love from him, nor will I betray my faithfulness.”  Finally, in the psalmist’s closing prayer, he asks, “O LORD, where is your former great love, which in your faithfulness you swore to David?”

When Ethan the Ezrahite, who wrote this poem, was feeling rejected by God (38) and the utter futility of life (47), the thing he fell back on was the character of God – especially God’s love and faithfulness.  The same was true of Jeremiah, whose whole world seemed to collapse when his home town and native country were destroyed.  He too remembered God’s love and faithfulness (Lamentations 3:21-24).  When we feel like God isn’t there, when we see life as utterly futile, when our personal worlds seem to fall apart, the thing we can fall back on is God’s love and faithfulness.  No matter how we feel, God is love and God is faithful.  Nothing can change those two truths!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

