Deadly Poison

February 3, 2009 at 10:25 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Wisdom | Leave a comment

I have to be reminded often of the powerful weapon that is my tongue.  God’s Word addresses the matter.  For instance, I read these words in my devotions this morning:  “Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly. We all stumble in many ways. If anyone is never at fault in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to keep his whole body in check. .  .  .  The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell  All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.”  (Selections from James 3:1-12 – the entire section is good)

It seems this is especially difficult for teachers, and I am called a teaching pastor; that’s scary!.  When I get into trouble, it is usually because of my tongue.  I spout out things I wish I’d never said.  They come from the depravity within, and they can hurt others.  May God grant us the grace to speak words that are soft and gracious.  Next week’s sermon is on this text from Colossians 4:  “Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”  That is a lesson I haven’t yet learned well.

If the more gracious among you have any suggestions to help soften the rest of us, your comments are welcome!

I wrote on this topic once before.  You can read that post here.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

