Delight in God’s Word

January 1, 2009 at 5:58 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Psalm 119.  I had the first few days of this week off and read part of this chapter during those days.  Here are some prayers that I marked for the upcoming year.  These are especially good for a teaching pastor.  “O that my ways were steadfast in obeying your decrees!” (v5)  “I rejoice in following your statutes as one rejoices in great riches.” (v14)  “Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain.  Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.” (36-37)  “The law from your mouth is more precious to me than thousands of pieces of silver and gold.” (72)  I hope to have that kind of delight in God’s Word during the coming year!  It is too easy for me to get caught up with temporal things instead of the eternal.  But deep inside I want to delight in (and invest in!) the eternal.  God’s Word is one of the few eternal things in this life.  Help me, like the psalmist to do just that.

        The old Catechism asked, “What is the chief end of man?”  And the answer was, “The chief end of man is to glorify God and enjoy him forever.”  The first part of that formula I can understand, the second is more difficult.  Yet here the old poem talks about exactly that: delighting in the things of God.  May you delight in God’s Word in 2009.  May it be your passion, your desire, the thing more precious than silver or gold.  That’s what we need more of in an economic downturn!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

