Psalms of Satisfaction

December 15, 2008 at 2:05 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

Here are some “Psalms of Satisfaction,” that I have recently found.  I did a search and found there are 15 verses in Psalms with the words satisfy, satisfies or satisfied in them.  Some of those speak of satisfying physical hunger or thirst, but others of a deeper spiritual hunger.  Here are a few examples of the spiritual kind:

Psalm 17:15 “In righteousness I will see your face; when I awake, I will be satisfied with seeing your likeness.”

Psalm 65:1-5 “O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory.  Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you.  I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands.  My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.”

Psalm 90:15 “Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days.”

Psalm 103:2-5 “Praise the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits – who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases  .  .  .  who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.”

Then we could add to the list verses like Psalm 73:25f “Whom have I in heaven but you?  And earth has nothing I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”  Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  And Psalm 16:11 “You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”

          Our satisfaction needs to be found in God alone.  Forgive us, God, when we find pleasure and seek satisfaction in anything but you.  We are addicted to the things of this world and have turned our backs on you.  May we abandon the broken cisterns of our own making and find our satisfaction in your spring of living water.  Fill us with joy in your presence; give us yourself as our greatest desire; help us delight fully in you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

