Remaining Fresh and Green

December 9, 2008 at 12:40 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts | Leave a comment

Psalm 92:12-15.  “The righteous will flourish like a palm tree, they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon; planted in the house of the LORD, they will flourish in the courts of our God.  They will still bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green, proclaiming, ‘The LORD is upright; he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.’”   As I grow into middle age, this is a great prayer to bring before God.  I never want to grow stale.  I want to continue to be fresh and green and to bear fruit well into old age.  I remember Chuck VerStratten, who in his late seventies had trouble walking, but was raising his hands and almost dancing before the Lord as a loud, contemporary worship team lead at a denomination meeting one year.  I remember his sharp mind and optimistic outlook on life.  I saw him continue ministry well after he supposedly retired.  May I have that same freshness, fruit and optimism as I grow older.  I have seen too many older people live from day to day with no eternal perspective, no ministry, no joy and no freshness.  I don’t want to be that kind of person.  Regardless of my physical and fiscal health, I want to pursue spiritual health – my relationship with God.  May this psalm be my prayer before God, and may I find in Him my source of fruit and joy.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

