Concerning the Election Winners

November 5, 2008 at 9:37 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts | 3 Comments

Two blog entries in one day!  Pretty much unheard of from me.  But I was praying through Psalm 138 this morning and have to include this journal entry.

Psalm 138:1-5.  Here is a prayer concerning the election winners:  “I will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.  May all the rulers of the earth praise you, O LORD, when they hear the words of your mouth.  May they sing of the ways of the LORD, for the glory of the LORD is great.” 

Lord God, you are the ultimate Ruler of the universe.  All other powers and authorities reign under your sovereignty; your glory is great.  When I think of the people elected to office in our nation, I recognize that most of them do not stand for your principles.  But I also recognize that your word and your name are still exalted over all.  I ask that those rulers might hear your words and see your ways and praise you.  May their praise to you be not in word only but in repentance and faith, in practice and policy.  Ultimately, may they come to know Jesus as Savior of their souls and Lord of their lives.  And even if they don’t I will praise you, O LORD, with all my heart, before all else that is called ‘gods’ I will sing your praise.  Amen.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glenn, Thank you for sharing this. I think we all had great hope and knew it was possible, but we also knew that we have a righteous and a just God who hates evil, etc. I had been praying the Psalm 5 the last few days before the election. Good to hear from you and God bless you and your family. My heart hurts because we as a nation (including myself) did not pass on our heritage to our children and now we live in a much more godless society than I knew as a child and I realize that Ken was not even taught our early history in school and it fact was taught to disbelieve our Christian heritage. How sad for us all and a lesson to me to continue to be more diligent. Praise God He is forgiving and merciful. Love, Ruth Ann

  2. Thanks Ruth! I appreciate your comments. I also appreciate having a great set of “second parents” through all those growing up years! May you continue to grow in the grace of God.

  3. […] many who, like me, are not prayer warriors.  I especially like the Psalms for this exercise – like my prayer for the election winners.  But this week, I used this Colossians prayer for my family and our church staff.  One might […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

