Thoughts and Prayers from Romans

November 4, 2008 at 9:20 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, God's Love, It's All About God, Worship | Leave a comment

Some miscellaneous thoughts and prayers from yesterday’s devotions in the latter chapters of Romans:

9:25-26  “I will call them ‘my people’ who are not my people; and I will call her ‘my loved one’ who is not my loved one.”  I can praise God because, even though I am separated from the promises of God by birth, and even though I am separated from the righteousness of God by sin, I can still be called one of God’s children by grace.  “So then, the Gentiles might glorify God for his mercy.  As it is written,  .  .  .  ‘Rejoice you Gentiles with his people.’  And again, ‘Praise the Lord all you Gentiles; let all the peoples of the earth extol him.’” (15:9-11)

13:1  “There is no authority except that which God has established.”  With the election tomorrow, and the poles not looking very good for Christian values, we look to God to direct minds and hearts to sway this election as he desires.  At the same time, I know that he has used evil regimes and rulers in his kingdom work as well as good ones, so I assume whatever happens, God will use it to advance the eternal things of his kingdom.  As Jesus taught us to pray, “Your kingdom come; Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

15:13  This blessing of Paul to the Roman Christians is what I prayed today for my own life and ministry.  May the God of hope fill me with all joy and peace as I trust in him, so that I may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  God, touch other lives through my faith in you.  Just as Paul’s faith was visible to others in times of trouble and overflowed to them, may my faith be evident to those around me who do not know you.

Finally 11:33-35, another prayer I offered back to God this day:  “Oh the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God!  How unsearchable his judgments, and his paths beyond tracing out!”   Lord, you are beyond my knowledge, wisdom and understanding.  I could never know you, except that you, in your grace, have chosen to reveal yourself to me.  Help me grow in the knowledge and wisdom of you.  “For from him and through him and to him are all things.  To him be the glory forever!  Amen.”   God, everything that is, or ever was, is, or was, because of you; it came from you and through you, and it is to you – to your glory and praise.  Everything is about your glory.  May I know you as you desire, and may I glorify you in my life.  Amen.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

