My Distress and God’s Sovereignty

August 11, 2008 at 11:15 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, It's All About God | Leave a comment

Psalm 102.  The unknown author of this poem has a God-centered focus.  The poem is described as “The prayer of an afflicted man who has grown weak.”  He describes his situation this way:  “I am in distress;” “I am blighted and withered like grass;” “I groan aloud and am reduced to skin and bones;” “my enemies taunt me;” and “I eat ashes as my food.”  And even though the subject of the first eleven verses is “I” and “me,” there is a sudden change in verse 12: “But you LORD, sit enthroned forever.”  The rest of the poem is all about God: “You will arise and have compassion;” “the kings of the earth will revere your glory;” “the name of the LORD will be declared in Zion.”  Never does this author say, or even imply, that God brought him out of the distress he feels, in fact he testifies that God himself brought that distress to him.  Speaking of God he says, “In the course of my life he broke my strength; he cut short my days.” (v.23)  His only hope is that God’s children will live in his presence (v.28)

It is wonderful when God allows life to be easy by taking away our distress or protecting us from it, and we must praise him when he does.  There are Psalms that take that line with thoughts like “He brought me out of the miry pit.”  But that is not always the case, nor is it what God promises.  But either way, we can be sure that God is in control and that his people have a hope beyond the temporal troubles of this world.  They will live in his presence.  May I have that kind of God-centered attitude when I feel blighted and withered like grass.

This is a poem that makes me think of Bert and her pain.  To see her story click here.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

