The Incredible Faithfulness of God — part 2

August 6, 2008 at 2:30 pm | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Theology | Leave a comment

In light of the thought I wrote yesterday, I read Ezekiel 20 this morning.  In this chapter, God tells of his promise to bring the people out of Egypt and into the land flowing with milk and honey.  Though they continually turned their backs on him by their detestable practices, idolatry and disobedience, he fulfilled his promise for the sake of his name.  Three times the Sovereign LORD says, “for the sake of my name I did what would keep it from being profaned in the eyes of the nations.” (9, 14, 22)  God would not go back on his promise, in spite of the failure of his people to do their part.  He was faithful anyway, because he is a faithful God.  No wonder the passage ends with these words, “You will know that I am the LORD, when I deal with you for my name’s sake and not according to your evil ways and corrupt practices, house of Israel, declares the Sovereign LORD.” (v.44)  I wonder if Paul had these words in mind when he wrote, “If we disown him, he will also disown us; if we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself.” (2 Timothy 2:13)  When I consider my own idoltry and rebellion, I’m sure glad that God is faithful.  Great is his faithfulness!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

