Bert

July 24, 2008 at 4:21 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Last week Bert Nelson was in a horse-riding accident.  She broke her neck in two places, her back in two or three places, her pelvis, every rib on her right side and some on the left.  She is in constant pain.  I’ve visited her a few times in the hospital.  There have been a few occasions in my life when I’ve visited people offering encouragement to them but come away more encouraged by them.  Visiting Bert has been one of those experiences.  She talks consistently of God’s purpose in everything and that this accident is no different.  She knows God has a reason for it that is to his greater purpose.  Her prayer, each time I’ve seen her is for some family members who do not know Jesus.  She wants me to pray that those people will see Jesus so clearly in her life through this accident that they too will come to know him personally.  Wow!  She is an amazing lady, and I could only hope that I might have the same attitude if something similar would happen to me.  I know my own self-centeredness all too well, but hers is a life all about God!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] is a poem that makes me think of Bert and her pain.  To see her story click here. Published […]

  2. I can attest to those comments about Bert. I had the priviledge of visiting with her this past Tuesday, and I walked away thinking how incredible is God’s grace and what an incredible lady Bert is.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

