Swift Horses or Quiet Trust

June 26, 2008 at 9:42 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, False teaching, It's All About God | 2 Comments

Isaiah 30.  Isaiah nails the popular religion of our day with the words of this chapter, which I pondered in my devotions this morning.  The popular religion of our time is a me-centered, prosperity gospel.  As humans, we want that kind of message; we don’t want to hear about human sin and divine holiness.  We want to hear pleasantries for ourselves and our success.  The same was true of the people in Isaiah’s day: “They say to the seers, ‘See no more visions!’ and to the prophets, ‘Give us no more visions of what is right!  Tell us pleasant things, prophesy illusions.  Leave this way, get off this path, and stop confronting us with the Holy One of Israel!’” (Isaiah 30:10-11)  Isaiah goes on to say that such a gospel will perish, collapsing suddenly and mercilessly.

However there is a way out of the false gospel.  It is through trusting the Sovereign and Holy One.  False gospels teach a trust in self, that’s why I call them “me-centered,” but the true gospel is all about the sovereign, holy God.  “This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel, says: ‘In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength.” (30:15)  That kind of trust is hard for us, because we are so busy running to the next thing, pursuing our own prosperity.  This is why the prosperity gospel is so attractive to a culture of busyness.  It says you don’t have to slow down and know a holy God; you don’t have to submit to a sovereign Ruler; you can keep going and see human success with a weak god’s help along the way; you can rule your own destiny.  That was exactly the attitude Isaiah addressed.  The very next words are, “but you would have none of it.”  Isaiah says that strength and salvation come from trust and rest in God, but the people of his day didn’t want it.  Instead, “You said, ‘We will ride on swift horses.’” (30:16)  Don’t those words describe us well!  Like the people of Isaiah’s day, we want to rush off on swift horses.

I wonder if I have bought into the self-centered gospel.  So much of my schedule, even as a teaching pastor, is running from one thing to another – riding off on swift horses – hoping for God’s help along the way.  I believe Isaiah would say that to the extent I don’t practice repentance and rest, quietness and trust, I have bought into a false, me-centered gospel.  That is a convicting thought.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you! I am passing this on!

    Have you seen http://www.justinpeters.org? If you haven’t check out “demo” where Justin speaks on the WoF, Health & Wealth “gospel.”

    He spoke at our church last year and comes highly recommended by my pastor, Dr. John MacArthur.

    God bless you!

  2. Prosperity gospels are not the ones that tempt “me” to err. But I do fall for a “me centered” (my wisdom) mindset at times. This causes me to doubt that the Lord is wise and kind. I am tempted at times to read things written by authors like Rob Bell at times. I recently was reading “Love Wins”, but haven’t gotten past the first chapter, because feel guilty when I try to read it.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

