Deadly Arrows

May 8, 2008 at 10:25 am | Posted in Devotional thoughts, Wisdom | 2 Comments

It seems I recently spent an entire day putting out proverbial fires all around me.  That evening I told Cathy how much easier ministry would be if I didn’t have to deal with sinful people!  Of course, we are all sinful people, and dealing with sinful people is exactly why one is called into ministry.  But that day way too many people were saying things that shouldn’t be said and doing things that shouldn’t be done.  Unfortunately, right in the middle of it, I tried to show off my own depravity and said something I later had to ask forgiveness for saying.

Words can hurt.  I guess it’s providential that I read Psalm 64 this morning and heard David complain about the sinful people and the hurtful words he had to deal with in his life.  “They sharpen their tongues like swords and aim cruel words like deadly arrows.”  Though David used this description for wicked enemies, it certainly describes all of us at one time or another.  It reminded me of some other words of David found in Psalm 15; there he asked the question, “Who may dwell in the Lord’s sanctuary?”  The description of those qualified include: they speak truth from their hearts; they have no slander on their tongues; and they cast no slur on others.  David understood how much words hurt and how easy it was for him to speak hurtful words himself.  That’s why on another occasion (Psalm 141:3) he prayed, “Set a guard over my mouth, O LORD; keep watch over the door of my lips.”   That’s a prayer we can all benefit from repeating.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. AMEN!!
    I get so glib sometimes and then realize later that I said things that might be hurtful to others. I need to be reminded of that prayer every morning!

  2. […] wrote on this topic once before.  You can read that post here. Published […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

